An 1845 map of New Orleans shows the city’s subdivision into three separate municipalities. Creoles, for the most part, resided in the First and Third Municipalities, downriver of Canal Street, while American transplants settled further upriver. ICourtesy of The L. Kemper and Leila Moore Williams Founders Collection,The Historic New Orleans Collection)