The Confederate Cabinet and former members circa 1863. President Jefferson Davis, and General Robert E. Lee, center, are flanked by from left, Navy Secretary Stephen Mallory, Secretary of State Judah Benjamin (seated second from left) former Secretary of War Leroy Pope Walker, Postmaster General John Reagan, seated, Treasury Secretary Christopher Memminger, Vice President Alexander Stephens, seated, and former Secretary of State Robert Toombs. (MPI/Getty Images)