World War II Archives | Page 3 of 199 | HistoryNet MENU

World War II

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Book Review: Stalingrad

    Stalingrad: How the Red Army Survived the German Onslaught By Michael K. Jones. Foreword by David M. Glantz. 320 pp. Casemate, 2007. $32.95. A Red Army veteran once told this reviewer, “If you dig down anywhere in Volgograd, just pick a...

  • World War II Magazine

    A Daring Rescue Behind the Lines

    Operation Halyard weathered fierce British opposition, communist sabotage, and the threat of Nazi discovery to become one of the most successful rescue missions of World War II. Black flak bursts blossomed in the air around Lt. Thomas...

  • World War II Magazine

    Operation Starvation

    A brilliant synergy between air and sea came close to defeating Japan even before the atomic bombs. Late on the afternoon of March 27, 1945, 102 four-engine Boeing B-29s clattered aloft from Tinian, rising ponderously from the island and...

  • World War II Magazine

    Fight to the Finish on Leyte

    MacArthur’s strategic blunders in taking Leyte were matched only by the Japanese army’s miscalculations. Gen. Tomoyuki Yamashita had intended to fight his main battle for the defense of the Philippines on Luzon. Yet he found his...

  • World War II Magazine

    Lawrence of Morocco

    In his memoirs, the anthropologist Carleton Coon wanted to set one thing straight: The explosives his team of Arab saboteurs used to blow up German tanks were not, as Time magazine once erroneously reported, fake camel turds. They were...

  • World War II Magazine

    Harsh Winds Shake the Dust from Manzanar’s Past

    Back in the early 1950s, when I was a high school student in Oregon, our American history teacher told us a sad story of how the civil rights we take for granted can disappear in time of war. Barely a decade earlier, just after Pearl...

  • World War II Magazine

    Conversation with Pete Hamill

    Two Legendary Journalists, a Generation Apart, on the Art of War Reporting Pete Hamill was born to Irish immigrants in Brooklyn in 1935, the oldest of seven children. At age six teen he left school for the Brooklyn Navy Yard and...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Today- May 2008

    Long-Forgotten P-38 Reemerges on Welsh Beach When Lt. Robert F. Elliott pulled his P-38F Lightning into the Welsh sky on September 27, 1942, there was trouble ahead. The plane itself wasn’t the problem; his aircraft, a twin-boomed...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Letters from Readers- May 2008

    What’s Wrong with This Picture? My question pertains to page 71 of the December 2007 issue. Which general, Eisenhower or Marshall, is wearing his collar insignia reversed? Harry H. Clark Jr. Bedford, PA. According to David S. Stieghan,...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Review: Battle for the Pacific

    From its familiar heads-up display to its combat system and objective-based missions, The History Channel: Battle for the Pacific appears to be a carbon copy of nearly every other World War II–era first-person shooter. And as far as the...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Review: Nanking

    Nanking Director: Bill Guttentag and Dan Sturman  Time: 89 minutes. Color/B&W.  Think of this flick as a documentary variation on Schindler’s List set in 1937 China. Directed by the pair who helmed Twin Towers, the...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Book Review: The Hellish Vortex

    The Hellish Vortex: Between Breakfast and Dinner  By Richard M. Baughn. 394 pp. BookSurge, 2006. $20.99.  Nonfiction books about air power abound, but there is a serious shortage of good air war novels. The Hunters, James...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Book Review: Killing Rommel

    Killing Rommel: A Novel By Steven Pressfield. 320 pp. Doubleday, 2008. $24.95. The author of the best- selling Gates of Fire shifts fictional venues from the ancient world to the modern and scores a winner. Combining the meticulous...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Book Review: Polish Deportees of World War II

    The Polish Deportees of World War II: Recollections of Removal to the Soviet Union and Dispersal Throughout the World  Edited by Tadeusz Piotrowski. 256 pp. McFarland, 2008. $39.95.  They were awakened at two, three, or four in...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Book Review: Endgame, 1945

    Endgame, 1945: The Missing Final Chapter of World War II  By David Stafford. 608 pp. Little, Brown and Co., 2007. $26.99. This book is fine narrative history in the tradition of Cornelius Ryan’s The Longest Day, The Last Battle, and...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Book Review: Franco and Hitler

    Franco and Hitler: Spain, Germany, and World War II  By Stanley G. Payne. 336 pp. Yale University Press, 2007. $30.  Now a professor emeritus at the University of Wisconsin, Stanley Payne remains among the doyens of...