World War II Archives | Page 4 of 96 | HistoryNet MENU

World War II

World War II magazine is about the leaders, battles, weapons & men who fought in history’s greatest conflict. Our magazine utilizes dramatic photographs, illustrations, and detailed maps and graphics to bring to life the stories of famous leaders and unsung men and women, the stories of battles and weapons in the world’s greatest conflict.




  • World War II Magazine

    Conversation with Pete Hamill

    Two Legendary Journalists, a Generation Apart, on the Art of War Reporting Pete Hamill was born to Irish immigrants in Brooklyn in 1935, the oldest of seven children. At age six teen he left school for the Brooklyn Navy Yard and...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Today- May 2008

    Long-Forgotten P-38 Reemerges on Welsh Beach When Lt. Robert F. Elliott pulled his P-38F Lightning into the Welsh sky on September 27, 1942, there was trouble ahead. The plane itself wasn’t the problem; his aircraft, a twin-boomed...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Letters from Readers- May 2008

    What’s Wrong with This Picture? My question pertains to page 71 of the December 2007 issue. Which general, Eisenhower or Marshall, is wearing his collar insignia reversed? Harry H. Clark Jr. Bedford, PA. According to David S. Stieghan,...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Review: Battle for the Pacific

    From its familiar heads-up display to its combat system and objective-based missions, The History Channel: Battle for the Pacific appears to be a carbon copy of nearly every other World War II–era first-person shooter. And as far as the...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Review: Nanking

    Nanking Director: Bill Guttentag and Dan Sturman  Time: 89 minutes. Color/B&W.  Think of this flick as a documentary variation on Schindler’s List set in 1937 China. Directed by the pair who helmed Twin Towers, the...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Book Review: The Hellish Vortex

    The Hellish Vortex: Between Breakfast and Dinner  By Richard M. Baughn. 394 pp. BookSurge, 2006. $20.99.  Nonfiction books about air power abound, but there is a serious shortage of good air war novels. The Hunters, James...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Book Review: Killing Rommel

    Killing Rommel: A Novel By Steven Pressfield. 320 pp. Doubleday, 2008. $24.95. The author of the best- selling Gates of Fire shifts fictional venues from the ancient world to the modern and scores a winner. Combining the meticulous...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Book Review: Polish Deportees of World War II

    The Polish Deportees of World War II: Recollections of Removal to the Soviet Union and Dispersal Throughout the World  Edited by Tadeusz Piotrowski. 256 pp. McFarland, 2008. $39.95.  They were awakened at two, three, or four in...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Book Review: Endgame, 1945

    Endgame, 1945: The Missing Final Chapter of World War II  By David Stafford. 608 pp. Little, Brown and Co., 2007. $26.99. This book is fine narrative history in the tradition of Cornelius Ryan’s The Longest Day, The Last Battle, and...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Book Review: Franco and Hitler

    Franco and Hitler: Spain, Germany, and World War II  By Stanley G. Payne. 336 pp. Yale University Press, 2007. $30.  Now a professor emeritus at the University of Wisconsin, Stanley Payne remains among the doyens of...

  • World War II Magazine

    What if: the Manhattan Project Had Failed?

    On August 6, 1945, the B-29 Enola Gay dropped the world’s first atomic bomb on Hiroshima, Japan, killing an estimated one hundred forty thousand civilians. Three days later, the B-29 Bockscar dropped a second bomb on Nagasaki, killing...

  • World War II Magazine

    Voices from Iwo Jima

    Veterans’ reminiscences recall the fear, courage, and—yes—humor they brought to the legendary battle in the Pacific. February 19, 1945, dawned bleak but manageable. That morning nearly eight hundred American vessels, ranging from...

  • World War II Magazine

    Seeing Ghosts in a Martyred French Village

    France is a pretty country full of pretty little villages. But Oradour- sur-Glane is not pretty. On June 10, 1944, the 2nd Waffen SS Panzer Division Das Reich, 1st Battalion, stormed this village in the Limousin region of southwestern...

  • World War II Magazine

    She Also Served

    “What the hell are we supposed to do with them?” thundered one American army major in 1942, an all-too-typical reaction to the unprecedented flood of tens of thousands of women eager to serve their country in wartime. “Young girls...

  • World War II Magazine

    WWII Today- July 2008

    ‘Lost Fleet’ of U-boats Located in the Black Sea For Rudolf Arendt, captain of the German submarine U-23, the situation must have been unbearable. It was August 1944, and Arendt’s U-boat, along with two others, was enjoying its...

  • World War II Magazine

    What if: the Japanese high command had refused to surrender

    By the summer of 1945, Japan had, by every reasonable standard, lost the war. The American juggernaut had destroyed its navy, breached its island defenses, choked its economy, and fire bombed its cities. Yet the Japanese government...